Plugin Creator/Wizard

UPDATE
This feature was integrated into Engine in 4.8 preview version so I wont be updating my repo anymore!

Hi everyone!

As a programmer I must say I was kinda confused when I first tried to create my own Plugin for UE. I was told that best place to start would be a ‘BlankPlugin’ delivered with engine source.
So I copied all the files to ‘MyPlugin’ folder and renamed each file. Then I went into changing actual code in build.cs, .h and .cpp files.
It was ok at first as you could learn a lot during this copy-pasta, however, if you already knew what you’re doing, it was just a waste of time.

To speed things up I decided to create a simple plugin that would help other programmers get started with their own plugin creation - PluginCreator. It works like Project Wizard (most of the code was heavily based on it) - you choose a plugin name, set up parameters, choose a build template and click “Create” button. If everything goes well, next time you start the editor you should be able to see your new plugin on Editor’s plugin list and/or level editor’s toolbar.

Make sure to check out the video!

It was built using version 4.6.1-0+UE4.

Download source (.zip) here or clone it from git.

Please keep in mind that if you’re on a different engine version you will have to rebuild your project before using this plugin!

Cheers!

This is very cool.

This is szyszek! You should contact Epic and see if they can integrate by default into Editor.

Looks pretty cool, will try this out for the next plugin :slight_smile:

plugin ! This is a big time-saver! Thank you!

Wow that will help out a lot, thanks for this.

Glad you guys will find it useful (or already did;) I’ve created a pull request so I’m also looking forward to positive feedback from Epic;)

Good news is I’ve tested my plugin on latest master branch and it worked as expected so, hopefully, there wont be any problem to run it on 4.7.

Cheers!

! Look forward to checking this out!