Player/Character moves too fast, gravity is on but has no effect

I’m new to Unreal Engine, just three days in. So modeled a test scene, imported it, the scale is good but when I hit ‘Play’, the player moves around too fast. And there’s no gravity even though Gravity Scale is set to 1.0 in the details tab when Character and CharacterMovement is selected.

Show us how you’re moving the player and tell us what is your player.

Hi, thanks. Was about to delete this question as I’ve now found out how to add a character and access its walk speed. However now when I hit Play there’s no movement at all. Trying Shift F1 doesn’t do anything but offer a small blue trangle to click on, supposedly to enable mouse and keyboard movement but it doesn’t do anything.

We have no clue what you’re doing - it’s really hard to imagine what is missing.

Show us:

• the script that moves the pawn
  • pawn hierarchy
  • how input is set up

Or look at any template that is using a non-character pawn.

Normally, for a non-char Pawn, you’d have something like this:

You provide direction and use axis & scale values to dictates input, the Floating Pawn Movement component interpolates it automagically and off you go.

But at this point we don’t even know whether you’re possessing (using) that Pawn. Essentially, more details please.

Input is set up as the default empty game scene comes. No changes except for adding the pawn/character and my models and deleting the default ground box.

So I dumped that scene and created a new one, imported the models again and now… when I hit Play I can move. But still too fast, changing the CharacterMovement walk speed in the details tab has no effect.

And there’s no gravity. The Character collides with the scene objects and can move about but that’s it. Hit the space bar to jump and you just stay in the air. Too fast and no gravity.

Unreal Engine - I’ve only had it 4 days so please assume no knowledge whatsoever, I’m an absolute beginner.