Persistent audio buzzing/static sound when using Unreal Engine 5

Whenever I’m in Unreal Engine 5, I always hear this buzzing sound in the background, regardless of what I’m doing. It even occurs when the audio is muted. It’s a pretty subtle sound, but it’s very annoying. I’m still pretty new to Unreal, so I don’t know what audio settings I can change that will potentially resolve this issue. I’m on an Apple M1 Max running the latest version of MacOS Monterey.

Again, all you need to do to reproduce this issue is to run Unreal. It’s a pretty subtle sound, but it’s quite an annoying sound, and any fixes would be appreciated. The buzzing/static sound stops immediately after I tab out of the window. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

6 Likes

I’m going to hazard a guess and say you’re either running out of the 1/8" headphone jack, or maybe using earbuds. What you’re hearing is the logic board of the Mac. It’s noise that leaks onto the audio output.

It will definitely change based on what the computer is doing, like moving the mouse, or running an intense app like Unreal. Normally it’s pretty quiet – you have to crank the volume to hear it. But if you’re in a studio, it can be really obvious.

Can you do anything about it? Kind of. If you get a separate DAC (like a USB audio interface) they are isolated and do not pick up the logic board.

I just tried cranking the volume on my M1 Mac, and yeah, if I stick my ear to the speakers I can hear it. But it isn’t the Unreal app, it’s the hardware.

1 Like

I have the buzzing noise too in Unreal 5.0.1, just checked Unreal 4.27 and that’s fine. It seemed to happen with the update to 5.0.1 The buzzing is really annoying

1 Like

If using a PCI based device with analog audio cable, try switching to a USB device. Use a USB 3.0 extension cable to take advantage of extra Ground shielding.

USB 3.0 - Wikipedia

Its probably due to a GPU bug - hit Ctrl R to turn of realtime in Editor rendering