Particle blood flow

I’m working on a VR demo, where we are inside of a blood vessel. I’m a bit new to particles in UE4, so I’m asking for some advice.

1. There is no way to have particles follow a spline (as far as I know), so I’ve created collision tubes for the inside of the vessel, and I’m pushing the red blood cell particles down the tube and letting collisions handle keeping them on track. Is this the only way to handle this? I’m building some modular vessel wall parts that I can connect a bunch together to create a larger cave-like system, so using forces to control it, seemed difficult. Opinions?

2. I’ve gotten a steady stream of particles to flow, but what I really want is pulsing. Based on the heartbeat, there should be a strong surge of particles, then a pause where things slow, then surge again. I can’t find a way to do this with cascade. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks for reading!

Andrew

After reading a bit, it looks like the pulsing might work if I generate a Static Vector Field from Maya to represent constant acceleration along the directions of the vessel. Then animate a drag force with a sin wave or some expression. Or maybe someone will mention something better? :wink:

There was something about liquids and physics particles announced at the NVidia event coming to UE4 soon. I’m not sure if its ideal in your case but might be worth looking into.

Is the process of creating a simple wind (single direction) vector field really the best way to handle this? It seems like I’m over-complicating things, and I should just be able to have a constant acceleration on the particle, and animate my drag in and out… but I’m not getting it.

Just use vectors to give them some more force in areas. Even script to animate that vector global. That would be my approach.

How do I add a vector to a particle system in UE4?