Paint on top of slope painted landscape.

Hey all.

I’m still new to UE and game design in general, so still figuring out all the ins and outs.

Anyway, I have a texture that is auto painted based on slope but I would still like to be able to either paint by map height (snow and river bed) or by manual painting but I cannot figure it out.

Heres how I have my material setup so far:

So if anyone has any suggestions that’d be great :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance.

Illarvan

You are on the right track, you just need to figure out how you want your slope code to interact with the painted and height code. I would write out and think through exactly what you want to accomplish then it’s easier to give you more direct help, 2 examples of how it could go:

1. Slope blending is overridden by height so that i no longer get slope blending on white mountain tops or river beds. Slope and Height blending will be overridden by painting so i can apply exactly what i want!

2. Slope blending will be painted using a specific channel. The exact slope textures will be determined automatically by the height data. This will allow me to have auto slope where ever i want specifically but always be appropriate based on the height.

Both of those example use all three methods to very different results.

For some high level overview on painting:

Painting depends on the type of surface.

For landscapes (actual Landscape™) you will need to set up landscape layers. Plenty of documentation on this (it may be in your material screenshot even but the resolution wasn’t good enough to tell.) If you need extra help on it just ask.

For non-landscape meshes you will use vertex colors. (Also a good bit of documentation out there).