Packaged projects on Vive very jerky, even simple scenes

We have a Vive connected to a PC that has been configured for VR. Steam VR Performance ran through and informed me that it is well into the green for VR. It’s an i7 2700k CPU, SSD drive and GTX970 card (I actually oc’d the card a little bit, but it made no difference).

Even with a simple scene - a Cube with a light - the packaged project is jerky. It seems to be quite regular, like every second. It makes no difference how fast I turn my head. The same scene played from within UE4.13 plays just fine. Downloaded demos are fine too, even reasonably complex ones. They are run on the exact same system.

I am pretty sure I have followed the standard setup and packaged as normal, but I am clearly missing something. I even tried a new basic scene with the ‘off-the-shelf’ VR setup (the one with a pile of cubes that you can pick up with gripping hand-shaped controllers. This too plays with the regular jerkiness.

I am VERY new to UE4, but I wonder if somebody could give me some pointers on this? The fact that it plays through the UE4.13 program perfectly well, and it’s only the packaged ‘games’ that show the problem is the weird thing here.

Any help much appreciated - I am very keen to get going on creating content, but need to overcome this hurdle first!

When the game is running press the tilde key. A black prompt line will appear. Type stat fps then tell us how many frames per second you are getting.

I will do this as soon as I get to work tomorrow. Cheers.

have you testet your packaged game on other systems ?
the Firewall could also be a problem
you also could try the console command “stereo on” and “stereo off” to see if there is a big difference in performance (fps)

It is hard to say as the value fluctuates quickly but it seems to be in the range of 50-70+ fps. Very quick changing of the value though, and from first glance it seems to fluctuate in line with the regular ‘heart-beat’ frame drops I am seeing.