Open Letter to Epic [Mobile Development]

Hi.

Firstly i want to say this. I like UE4. UE4 is empowering me to do do many things. And thank you for the engine and the general direction it has taken.
Now. To the point.

Personally i am a bit concerned after having watched the GDC talk on the open landscape demo.
The lead developer stated that in the 4.8 release focus is on bringing new rendering capabilities to the engine.

This is good. However it does concern me that Epic has stated on numerous occasions that 4.8 is / was focused on mobile improvements. From Package size issues, performance woes, more / better ad support / facebook api exposed in blueprints, twitter etc.

As a mobile developer i have been patiently waiting for numerous months for the small quirks to be addressed. Things that can make a massive difference in the feasibility of creating mobile games using the engine.
So why do i say i am concerned about the direction this is going?
I am getting the impression that Epic is focusing more on pumping as many features as possible into the engine, in order to attract more people. As opposed to making sure what is currently in the engine works 100%.

From a developer perspective i can understand the reasoning. Because i myself am guilty of this. I worked on 4 mobile games, and instead of polishing them off and then releasing them as i finish one game… i decided to do all 4, and after they are done, polish and publish them all at once. Unfortunately this only lead to a massive delay in publishing as you then discover a bunch of small little issues previously missed.

Where as if i actually just finished one at a time, i would have now been finished. I would assume that building an engine as complex as UE4; this holds even more weight as is evident with some things being fixed which in turns break other elements.