Opacity Map UE4 / Quixel Issue - Images Provided

Evening,

I’ve basically been advised to bring this to the UE4 forum as it’s more a case of bad drawing on UE4’s part (at least that’s my understanding currently). That’s only one issue, the other is I simply don’t get the results I imagine I would. I’m clearly doing something wrong I’m just not exactly sure what that is.

Basically I’m starting the texturing phase of a mini summer project and I’m having some issues with the glass material. I’ll admit I’m fairly new to alphas/opacity/translucency on the whole but otherwise quite well versed.

I’ve provided clear screenshots below showing what my problem is.

In Quixel

For this glass I added an opacity mask and added the ‘Windowed Glass’ material to the relevant faces. Here is how it displayed in Quixels 3D0 once I selected transparent mode (otherwise it’s simply solid):

In UE4

And here is a quick UE4 tutorial level with my asset/maps and a few lights thrown in. Basically the opacity map works to some extent when plugged into the ‘opacity mask’ option and I change the material setting to ‘Masked’ from Opaque.

What I’m going for is the Quixel look, I actually want to see the glass itself, you can see this is literally just see through there’s no other details making up the surface detail whatsoever.

Here is the setup of my central chamber specific material:

I’ve tried a multitude of things here such as Masked, Translucent (where things start going crazy, faces being seen that are behind and so on) options - even Opaque with my opacity map (which came from Quixel and was created with my Glass material) plugged into both Opacity and / or Opacity Mask.

I’d much appreciate any help so I can move onto my second texturing pass and wrap up this project.

Ah yes, I forgot to mention I also lose the roughness surface details entirely if anything displays at all resulting in a blur glitchy transparent section. Absolutely stumped.