Download

One-frame jump while moving a Procedural Mesh due to motion blur

Hello!

This is my first post here so please be gentle :slight_smile:
I have extensive C experience, lots of 3D experience but I am just starting with UE4.

This is a minimal setup to describe my issue:
I create a brand new game project (C++, high quality, Desktop, no starter content).
I have a procedural mesh created from C++, no material (so the default gray tiles are used).
All the vertices inside the mesh are slowly moving in the X+ direction. When some vertex moves outside the mesh’s bounding box, I:

• Recalculate the bounding box ([FONT=courier new]SetBoxExtent and [FONT=courier new]UpdateBodySetup) allowing for some slack space.
  • Set a new position for the actor ([FONT=courier new]SetActorLocation).
  • Relocate all the vertices so they remain in the same world position even though the actor has jumped.

What I would expect to see is the mesh slowly moving, with a bounding box that periodically jumps to follow it, but without affecting the mesh in any way.
It should look as if it was a conventional mesh being moved around using [FONT=courier new]SetActorLocation.

What I actually observe is that everything works fine except that the moment I move the actor there’s a one-frame jump backwards (in the X- direction).
**It looks like **all vertices have already moved to their new positions (which are smaller than they were before) but the actor does the jump one frame later.
I say it looks like this, but I have tried delaying one frame the call to [FONT=courier new]SetActorLocation or the relocation of the vertices and it does not seem to accomplish much.

Is this a known behavior or Procedural Meshes?
Is there anything I can try to workaround this?

Unreal Engine 4.24.3
Visual Studio 2017 and 2019 (happens on both)