Newbie on the project of multiplayer

Hi, I’m a teacher, teaching foreign languages through Zoom meeting. I wanna do some activities with my students, like Offline course. Now I plan to make my virtual classroom. That’s why I now I’m learning UE, taking several online course how to make a game on UE. But my final goal is not to make a big triple A game, but just simple multiplayer-game with just 6(maximum) or 3(minimum) clients. In the game, I plan to do some activities with my students, for instance, flipping card, puzzle, role playing, etc…

As I wrote above, I’m a newbie about Networking and I overheard some of words (listen server, dedicated server, web server, steamcode, Gamelift etc…) I don’t know what they are and what they do, but I need to select among them, right? It seems Dedicated server is for the game like making session and Listen server is P2P? so it’s like for Fortnite?(Not sure). In my case, what kind of server should I choose? Sometimes, I think I better make my server on my computer and host it, because it’s not a big scaled-game joining many client. I need your feedback or advise. Thank you.

When it comes to servers in Unreal Engine, you either use a dedicated server or a listen server.

A dedicated server is an instance of the game with no player, just the server. Dedicated server is a good choice if the host isn’t going to play the game. Fortnite, as you mentioned uses a dedicated server, since someone in Epic Games isn’t probably gonna play on every single Fortnite match.