New VR Tech--Requires Plugin

Howdy there!

Earlier this year I was able to attend E3 and as everyone would expect I got to see lots of awesome things that will be coming out in 2016. One of those things is a pair of wireless VR gloves being developed by a company called Manus Machina (http://www.manusmachina.com) The demo I played that uses the gloves was made using Unity and the gloves worked by using the positional tracking system on a Samsung Gear VR. You could think of them similar to how Leap Motion works but the cool part is since the gloves have built in sensors to measure the movement of individual fingers and the palm of each hand you don’t get all the weird stuff that could happen by using IR like Leap Motion has (the Manus E3 demo can be viewed on the homepage of their website).

After playing the demo I explained to them I’m a video game developer who switched from using Unity to Unreal Engine 4 and asked if they had anyone working on other demos for them. They have a few but everyone they are working with is using Unity while one other is using UE4. Without explaining the whole story of how it got to this point I’m now partnered up with these guys to make them a demo. The idea would be to make something that actually shows off hand motions so my goal is to create an interactive demo that allows you to use the gloves to do simple things like push buttons, pull levers, etc. (how many more times will I say “demo”? haha)