Download

New to game dev, will my computer handle all the work?

Hello everybody,

I’ve been a 3D artist for quite a long time and now I’m considering to learn a game engine to develop Virtual Reality applications but I’m worried that my computer will not be able to handle the amount of power, below are my specs

Hardware Overview

Model Name: iMac
Model Identifier: iMac14,2
Processor Name: Intel Core i5
Processor Speed: 3.2 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 6 MB
Memory: 8 GB
Boot ROM Version: IM142.0118.B12
SMC Version (system): 2.15f7

Graphic/Displays
Chipset Model: NVIDIA GeForce GT 755M
Type: GPU
Bus: PCIe
PCIe Lane Width: x16
VRAM (Total): 1024 MB
Vendor: NVIDIA (0x10de)
Device ID: 0x0fea
Revision ID: 0x00a2
ROM Revision: 3782
Displays:
iMac:
Display Type: LCD
Resolution: 2560 x 1440
Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
Main Display: Yes
Mirror: Off
Online: Yes
Built-In: Yes

Should I consider the option to sell my mac and build a PC? a big turn off is that oculus does not support osx…

I will really appreciate any help! Thanks in advance.

1. I recommend AT LEAST 16GB RAM
  2. That GPU isn’t going to be near sufficient for UE4, let alone VR.
  3. It’s an iMac, and let’s face it, 50%+ of what you paid was for the logo on the back.

Yes, your current setup won’t be sufficient for VR.

Specs I recommend (I have them, they work great, and are good price to performance wise):

Gigabyte GTX 980 Ti
24GB RAM
i7 4790K
250 GB+ SSD

Ultimately, your needs depend on your usage/scale of VR development, but the specs above will do fine for most.

Nice reply from Jamendxman3, though I think it’s a little exaggerated.

You can use your i5 3.2 GHz, 8 GB RAM and GT 755M 1024 MB for Unreal Engine 4 in general. It’s not the best configuration, but it will work, depending on the game. I am having Windows in mind though, I don’t have much experience with Mac.