Networking Client Sending Character Selection

I am just starting with networking in blueprints for UE4, but I have plenty of experience doing sockets coding in java, python, and websockets in javascript.

I’m so used to having to send exact messages between client and server and exact functions when those messages are received, and having completely separate code for the client and the server, that not having to do that is very much confusing me and frustrating me. I have gone through the tutorials on YouTube for networking ([here][1]), but everything is from the point of view of the server. There is never anything shown where the client does something, that information is sent to the server, and then replicated to all connected clients.

What I have so far is pretty simple.

1. When you launch the game you are taken to an initial home screen with a menu to host, join, change settings, or quit. But I also have the character select here. When a character icon is clicked a variable in my game instance called “SelectedCharacter” with type Skeletal Mesh Reference is updated.

1. The person who will be the server/host clicks “Host” and an execute console command to “open game_map?listen” is performed.

2. When the character actor is created in the game_map level it makes a call to get the game instance data and update the skeletal mesh.

89708-character_change_skeletal_mesh.jpg

I know at this point this would be fine for a single-player game, but I am doing a networked game, so this will have to change. But I have so many questions that I can’t find the answers for.

1. Should my SelectedCharacter variable in my game instance be replicated? I imagine it shouldn’t because each client is modifying it for it’s own purposes before joining the host and if it were replicated then wouldn’t it be overwritten upon joining a host?