Need help, Lightmass produces weird shadows on simple model created in Blender

Hi, I’m a newbie, trying to import a hammer I created using Blender from this tutorial, using FBX format. When I use baked lighting using stationary directional light, it looks weird as if the normal is broken, as seen below:

However, if I use dynamic directional light (no precomputed lighting), it looks just fine as below:

I have tried to remove doubles, it doesn’t work.
I also have tried to fix the overlapping UVs (using Smart UV Project) as seen below:

I am not sure what I should do here or which causes the problem for now. Any suggestion?

If that’s going to be an object that characters can pick up then you don’t need baked lighting on it.

Otherwise, check your lightmap resolution, by default its 64 x 64 pixels, also make sure your lightmap coordinate index is correct, by default when you import something it will try to generate new lightmap UV’s to a new UV channel, if you’ve created yours already then you want to turn off that option. The general workflow is that the first UV channel (channel 0) is for your material and the second (channel 1) is for your lightmaps and it will use the second channel for lightmaps if it exists.

I ran into this a lot coming from blender/not being familiar with lightmaps/ue4.

+Make sure that your UV’s are spaced enough so that they don’t overlap. If they overlap, you’ll get that blackness. UE4 generates a light map, sometimes it overlaps in the UV’s… so as Darthviper said, make sure you’re using the non-overlapping UV – it looks like you could space out yours a bit more just to be safe. Just nudge them a few pixels away from eachother… might also help. in ue4 – Double click on the object, and you’ll see options to view UV channels in that viewer window that pops up. It will say 1 or 0. Then you can select which channel you want in the properties.