Multiplayer VR camera management

I’ve hit a bit of a snag in my development of a multiplayer VR experience that I’m hoping someone can shed some light on or maybe point me in a direction I haven’t considered. I have plenty of experience with the UE multiplayer framework and design paradigms so I’m not having trouble in that area. The issue is with any non-server side camera management. Playing single player, or as the host, everything works as you would expect meaning you can look around and move as you would in any other VR experience. When you connect as a client to a hosted session it’s a whole different story. I’ve never felt so nauseas so quickly :slight_smile: . It acts as if the world is locked to the HMD rotation (ie roll, pitch, yaw). When you look up, the whole world rotates up with you. Anywhere you move your head, the whole world moves with it. I’m still sweating after that experience :nauseated_face: .

Now, I’ve managed to replicate the effect in single player mode by turning off the “Lock to HMD” flag on the pawn camera. This leads me to believe that when I’m connecting into the server, for one reason or another, the camera on the spawned pawn (or player controller, or camera manager) is not being setup as if it were an HMD camera.

Has anyone experienced this before? Any thoughts on where to poke around? I’ve begun to poke about in the engine code at the player controller and camera manager. There are certainly places that look to see if head tracking is enabled, it’s just not readily clear to me why it might work just fine in a single player setting, or in a multiplayer setting as the host, but not for a client.

Any pointers welcome. Thanks in advance.