Move widget (map) so point on the map is in the centre

So I have a fullscreen widget that is a draggable map, with buttons on certain locations. When a user clicks a location button, I want the widget to move so that the button is in the centre of the viewport. I can’t find the answer to this anywhere as googling ‘widget to centre’ brings up stuff about anchors.

I’m still a Ue4 beginner so explicit help would be appreciated! Many thanks

There’s a node called [SetPositionInViewport]. You’ll need to make some calculations depending on the widget size, but it does the job.

calculations are ratios dependent on output size

Meaning if you are in 1080p 100% is 1080px height.
For your widget to be centered you want 50% of that - 540px.

So to get your map widget to pan around smooth you just have to set up a couple of variables that update any time resolution changes (otherwise scaling the game at runtime will result in wrong calculations).

To do this, you should probably consider an interface call. “Scale UI” or similar.
And any time you update resolution you call the interface so that the variables for the wisget get updated.

Thats really the only overly complex part about it.

Panning the map around should be simple enough however you decide to do it.

I think a simple timeline with a curve that drives the movement though time by returning a value from 0 to 1 is probably good enough in most cases.
Youll have a start point and an end point, so you can lerp using the result of the timeline between the 2…

Thanks for your responses guys.

@Tuerer Unfortunately SetPositionInViewport makes the map unusable - it stops the mouse from being able to drag.

@MostHost_LA I already have the map panning fine when you drag it using the mouse (blueprint screenshots attached). I’m just not sure how to move it properly to centre a button without messing up the dragging function.