Motion Controllers in the wrong place

Hi, I’m new to Unreal VR development and having some trouble with motion controller positions. It was working for me in Unreal 4.24.1 but today when I upgraded to 4.24.2 the motion controllers are in the wrong place with respect to the HMD. They are consistently several feet behind and above the HMD’s position. If I ResetSeatedPosition, the controllers again move to above and behind the HMD’s new orientation.

Both motion controllers are attached to the VROrigin.

I tried calling SetRelativeLocationAndRotation, ResetRelativeTransform, ResetOrientationAndPosition on each of the motion controllers, but none of these have any effect.

Any suggestions or ideas?

I have this same issue too.

Getting the same issue.

I have a setup similar to this: Super-easy VR body with Arm IK and thumbstick locomotion - Unreal Engine 4 Tutorial - YouTube which works in 4.22, in 4.24 the position of the hands is behind and above the HMD.

Currently trying different methods of calculating any possible offsets in regards to the HMD/ VR origin that may be causing the issue, but haven’t had tremendous results yet getting the controller’s world position to correctly correlate with the HMD world position. Help/ insights would be appreciated.

I had a similar issue after updating from 4.22 to 4.24. Where when using steamVR there was a noticable offset between the motion controllers’ real and in-game position. Curiously, the issue was present only in editor. In builds there was no offset. What helped me was setting base rotation and position to zero with those functions: FSteamVRHMD::SetBasePosition, SteamVRHMD::SetBaseRotation

1 Like

I have the same issue, VIVE motion controllers are working perfectly in 4.24.1 but in 4.24.3 they are offset above the head and not in the correct position. The same issue persists within the editor and packaged build. Anyone found a solution or is this a bug?