MolVR: Explore Molecular Complexity with UE4 and VR

Hi everyone,

I have been developing a test project MolVR for the past few days now. I am a scientist and my goal is to assess the benefits of combining UE4 and VR for Molecular Visualization and Big Data analysis (later phase). MolVR is an early stage prototype but I decided it might be time to let you know about the project and have some feedbacks and advices.

So without further due… You can retrieve the last version here:
http://www.molvr.org/2016/01/30/molvr-0-8-is-here/

Small documentation:

• alt + enter] to toggle fullscreen and enter VR mode (my tests are done on an Oculus DK2).

• Left mouse click + mouse X/Y]: rotate the view

• Right mouse click + mouse Y]: go up and down

• Up/Down/Left/Right arrows: respectively go forward/backward/left/right

• l’ key: toggle on/off the Automatic Label Display of atoms (basically, if you are sufficiently close to an atom, it will show its identifiers)

• m’ or ‘escape’ keys: show/hide the main menu

• Load Examples in main menu to load different examples of molecular structures

• Load from DB in main menu to retrieve molecular structures from a database using REST API / JSON. For the moment, you will only be able to load one of the 60 examples of that list: http://www.molvr.org/data/list by typing its code (i.e. 1a00, 1acb, etc). In a later version, I plan to give access to the 115 000 available molecular structures