Modular/Scalable Blueprint Component Setup - Best Practice?

Howdy,

I’m new to the engine and putting together a simple target shooter game (with some semi-realistic ballistics) using the first person template as a starting point. As part of the learning experience, I’m trying to make my systems modular/scalable so that I have the option to expand on the project in the future. I’ve run into a roadblock in my understanding of how best to handle setting particular parameters onto a weapon (eg ammunition type used) in a way that doesn’t involve having to edit the blueprint each time I create a new one and I’m hoping someone might be able to help me out.

Current Progress

Building upon the first person shooter template:

• The BP_Weapon_Component (Blueprint Component) controls the core weapon logic (firing the weapon, setting fire mode (semi auto, full auto, etc…), playing sound/animations and spawning a projectile. My goal is for this to be the basis of any weapon I chose to add
  • The BP_Projectile (Blueprint Actor) is spawned whenever the weapon is fired. The BP projectile uses the projectile movement component and references a data table I have created to get the relevant projectile properties (initial speed and energy, damage, drag calculation variables, etc…). My goal is for all parameters for ammo types I implement to be contained in this data table, and for the projectile to then use these properties based on what ammunition is currently being used in the weapon (hopefully to be grabbed from the BP_Weapon_Component)

My goal is for the BP_Weapon_Component to be used as the basis for every weapon I implement, by having exposed variables that I can update to control the characteristics such as usable ammo types, fire modes, etc… without having to re-create this logic for each one or go into the blueprint to edit. Once complete, I’m hoping this is as simple as attaching this component to any new weapon I create.