Mirrors

Hi Every One
Im new in Ue4 and im trying to create a simple mirror material

Take a look at this thread: https://forums.unrealengine/showthread.php?4732-mirror-material-creation :slight_smile:

"There is a level called Reflections in Content Examples project. Open it and then head to 1.7.

What you see there is a SceneCapture2D actor facing the direction you want reflected. Once you set it up, create a TextureRenderTarget2D in the content browser and insert it to SceneCapture2D’s Texture Target. And then use that texture in the material of your mirror mesh. You can also see the material setup in that same project. "

Hi all, I am a newbie in UE4 as well trying to do a crash course fora University project.
I have managed to create a mirror and I have managed to hook my Kinect to where I have real time animation (albeit a bit jerky)
I would like to create a mirror room … 1 mirror is functional, now I would like to have 2 next to each other at 90 degrees.
Both mirrors reflect the same reflection. The mirror to the right of the Avatar shows correct reflection but the mirror behind the Avatar does not (it should reflect the back of the Avatar). thought creating target texture instances would solve the problem but it does not … is it even possible to do independent SceneCaptures and have each mirror show the proper reflection?
b9484205f9e5841e44b582874f58533c5ff54da8.jpeg

I think the answer might be in a blueprint but besides being new to UE4 I am not a programmer either.
I am about to give up on my little infinity room project so any help at this point would be greatly appreciated.

You don´t need Blueprint. But you need two separate RenderTarget-Textures.
It´s possible to make endless mirrors :slight_smile:

Hey there, thanks for your reply
I tried your suggestion but it does not seem to make a difference …
I made instances of all the textures and materials used and renamed them as you can see in the image.
Is it because I made instances versus copies?