Maya to Unreal Engine Mesh/Textures questions

Hi there,
I am an Animation student, somewhat experienced in modelling in maya and I have heard you can use Unreal Engine as the render tool, maya takes ages to render short animations…
So my question is what is the best way to prepare/transfer models from maya to Unreal. I am mostly concerned about applying/creating textures.
Let’s say I have an arched, double doors, (medieval styled) prop, in maya some details of said doors are separate objects. Usually in maya I would just pick and object (detail) and just apply texture to it, for example metal/wood and then combine the meshes so I can open the detail and the doors together, but after bringing it to Unreal, all the textures are gone and combined 2 objects are treated as 1, which is fine, but it means I have to create completly different texture, that already includes metal and wood detail.
Is it really the only way to make it work ? Creating dedicated texture, instead of just applying a let’s say a stock texture, which would be fine for the project I am working on.

pew, not a simple answer to that, may I ask what you’re experience level is with “PBR” and UV’s?

For such stuff the Substance(adobe)Painter workflow is super nice,…

And do I get you right? Your textures are all gone when importing to unreal, meaning you have a blank object?.. this is actually how this stuff works :wink:
I’m also a Maya user, and thing is, when u “shade” in Maya, and expect that you get that stuff 1to1 into UE,… sry,… forget it, these are two different worlds when it comes to “shading”,… (UE is waaaayyyy nicer :smiley: )

My approach is, use Maya only as the initial DCC to create your model/s, with proper uv layouts and unwrapping… then texture it outside in, jeah, let’s say Painter (PBR metall/rough workflow, directX normal format)