Maths question. Is it possible to store multiple greyscale textures inside one greyscale texture.

I understand it is possible to combine multiple black/white mask textures into one grey scale texture, and de-combine them into separate masks in a shader.

My question: How would you combine/encode grey scale textures that contain a larger range of values than black and white and how would I de-combine/de-encode them in the shader?
Is this even possible?

Any Ideas/thoughts are welcome and very much appreciated :slight_smile:

why dont you just use packed textures?
Store each greyscale texture in the single RGB channels

RGBA channel packing would allow me to store 4 greyscale textures inn one texture. However I am looking for a way to store ALOT more than 4 textutures in one texture.

Search for bit-packing.

What is your actual use case?

Thankyou Deathrey
Unfortunately this seems too much for my small brain; I am not a programmer. All the same, you have helped me realize the complexity of what I was asking for.

My use case is rather alot to explain, but my simple brain thought “Hey, I dont need all the bit depth of an 8-bit greyscale texture. Maybe I can can store 30 low bit-depth textures inside one high-bit deth texture. Think of all the GPU memory and texture lookups I could save”

But ofcourse it is not that simple :L

Edit: After playing around with packing alpha masks, this is what I came up with. This shader encodes a binary black/white mask into a greyscale texture, and then decodes it.

It works fine and I can technically pack more than 1 mask. However I want to pack grey scale images, not binary black/white masks. Can someone confirm for me whether this is actually possible?