Materials not projecting correcly on models from blender

Hi all,

Complete beginner here. I’m trying to make a model of the house we’re building and am running into problems with materials which completely baffle me. I added some material slots, for example to represent a floor, and tried to add a wood material. However it stays black, whilst a cube with the same MI looks absolutely fine. See below. The floor that the cube is sitting on should have the same appearance.

I wondered if it was related to the slots, so I tried to add a material to a simple mesh as well. This shows the texture, but it’s like it’s projected at a funny angle. See below - once again the cube and the pathway have exactly the same material applied and once again, it looks fine on the cube, but very odd on the pathway,

Pathway.jpg

I tried to look at the meshes in the unreal editor and the normals etc seem okay. These meshes don’t have any UV maps (because I’m still learning Blender too) but I was hoping this wasn’t necessary to do a simple planar mesh)

Thanks in advance - I’m getting very frustrated.

If you really don’t want to use UV mapping you can try to use the “WorldAlignedTexture” or “WorldCoordinate3Way” function. Look at the documentation for more information on how to use it: Texturing | Unreal Engine Documentation