Material flipbook animating too quickly

I’m working on animating a sprite sheet inside of a material, I’m trying to get it to play at exactly 30 fps, which I thought could be accomplished by wiring the Time node in directly:

This plays too quickly, which makes me think I’m doing something wrong- I’ve seen some examples where Time gets wired through Frac * 0.4 or Frac *1, but I really don’t understand what the purpose is there; is there any way I can very purposefully specify a target fps that it should always animate at?

Edited to add: I think I’m missing something bigger here, because I noticed that it doesn’t always start playing from frame 0: if I create four instances of the same material, one right when the game starts, and three more at 0.25 second intervals, all four materials animate in sync, meaning that the fourth one actually starts a full 1 second into its animation. I know I’m not technically “animating” so much as I am juggling the UV coordinates, but is there any way I can explicitly start or stop the animation? Its utility is somewhat limited if I can’t make sure that it always starts at frame 0 and stops playing at the terminal frame.

The flipbook function will by default play the entire sequence once per second. The clue to this is that it says “Animation Phase 0-1” on the input pin. That means 0 is the start, and 1 is the end.

if you hook up Time, time increases by 1.0 every 1 second, so you will loop through all frames in that second.

To control frame rate, you need to divide by how many frames you want to display in 1 second. Ie, if your flipbook had 30 frames, it would be at 30fps. If your flipbook has 64 frames, you’d need to multiply time by 30/64, or 0.46875. Then it will only complete 30 frames in 1 second.

Ooh that makes a lot more sense, for some reason I had it in my head that the animation phase somehow automagically worked out to 30fps if you were giving it Time, thank you for the detailed explanation!