Manually set Android SDK and NDK on UE 5 for M1 MacOS?

I am new to UE and am trying to set it up to use my existing custom placed Android SDK and NDK paths. I am trying to follow the directions at the bottom of this doc under “Manually Targeting SDK Paths” but just can’t get it to show up.

I skipped running SetupAndroid.command and instead manually set my NDKROOT along with several other env vars in in both .bash_profile and .zprofile, and I manually added the settings to the project’s DefaultEngine.ini, but when I open the project, there is no “Android SDK” under Project Settings > Platforms, and in the editor’s Platforms dropdown, “!Android” is listed under “Platforms with no compiled support”, and it’s sub-menu has no value for “Installed SDK”.

I know I’m doing this the hard way, but any other suggestions I could try short of moving my SDK and NDK folders?

1 Like

Can you click the three dots next to it and browse to the SDK/NDK locations?

There are no 3dots next to any of the UI I referred to.

So, I opted to do the regular instructions (now opting out of the “manual” steps), and SetupAndroid.command ran successfully, then I rebooted and created a new “mobile AR” project from the template, and had the same result, Android is listed just like before under “Platforms with no compiled support”.

Are there extra steps that are not listed in the instructions because its UE5 instead of 4.27?

“Platforms - Android SDK” does not show up in my project settings, nor can I find any “Platform” settings in the general Editor preferences.

Check in the launcher to see if Android is checked under options.

Hi, I have the same problem. I have checked Android in options. Inside menu I can see this…

3 Likes

Didn’t know that was even there, but yes it’s checked. When I mouse over the individual projects in the UE launcher, they show Apple and iOS icons, but no Android icon.