Mannequin Feet Not Moving During Custom Animations

I’m very new to animation in general and I’ve been trying to implement a simple emote animation to learn the basics. I’m making animations using the control rig from this video How to Animate Characters in UE5 - YouTube in Unreal’s animation sequencer in the same way that the video shows. I have an animation that moves the character’s feet. However, when I play the animation in-game, the character’s feet are static and do not move at all. This is confusing to me because the mannequin default walk and run animations move the character’s feet just fine, and I can’t figure out what’s different about my animation that causes the feet to not move.

Here’s how the animation looks in the editor: in_editor
Here’s how it looks in-game: in_game

I’m using IKTwoBone to rig the legs and feet.

Could someone help me figure out why the feet aren’t moving and how to fix it? Thank you!

1 Like

Hi there,
If you’re using the characters from the Third Person Template, they all come with "Foot IK Control Rig, which means, during playtime, their feet will be locked in the floor in order to follow terrain slopes. You just need to add a curve Disable LegIK to all animations that require feet movement without “foot IK” enabled. Usually jumps, dashes, climbs, rolls, etc.
I’ll print a screenshot showing how to do it.

Easier way, you can remove the Control Rig reference from your animation Blueprint. But that will disable all gameplay states.

The harder way: create another condition that, if playing montages with full body, disable Foot IK control rig, which will require more code.

4 Likes

Hello,