Make Shooter Game third person (C++)

Hey all,

So I found and followed the tutorial by Chad Reddick on creating a “True First Person” camera via C++ by using the Third Person C++ template. I’d like to be able to do the same for the Shooter template that is available on the Market Place but I’m a total noob when it comes to C++. Anyone know how to do this and feel like explaining it to us programming noobs?

that project is pretty big and a bit complex to explain in 1 shot, plus don’t know where to start also, so i think you have to try first then ask what you want to do specifically, problem by problem. This way someone can easily give you some support rather than this general and wide range question like this.

Hello!
You should start thinking of what are the mechanics you want first. Here is some “template” To do: list for you:

1. movement
  2. networking the movement
  3. basic menu
  4. basic shooting&damge
  5. basic respawning
  6. basic team&scoreboard system
  7. swappable weapons system
  8. additional mechanics, that you think would be really cool and unique (jetpack? time warp? you have the power to decide :3)
  9. start polishing up the “basic” mechanics
  10. at this point you have probably decided to go a bit different route that fits your particular project better, which is more than okay, as you now should somewhat know what you’re doing.

For actually completing those steps you should watch tutorials, documentation, and ask more questions on answerhub&forums. But try not to simply ask “how do I do this step”; but rather try to figure it out yourself, and ask for details (ie. how do I set playerstate to occupy another pawn?"

Hope this helps to learning the engine, as this is the way I approached it.

-DoctorPC

I was just hoping that there was a way to simply set up a switch so that the game was always using the third person mesh not the first person (floating arms) and then zoom the camera back into the head.