Make Apply Damage node replicate?

so i’m very new to UE4 and i know that a multiplayer game isnt the best place to start, but i don’t really have any drive for a single player game. Anyways, i’m making a shooter and long story short, is there any way to make the node “Apply Damage” replicate? i have everything set up, the only problem is that the server can give damage to the client but a client can’t give damage to the server.

ApplyDamage is run on server per default because it is a pretty important gameplay mechanic. Such things shouldn’t be done by any clients. You should replicate your health variable instead and then it should work.

hm… it is replicated but it doesnt seem to work

i have a print string to show the player’s health, but it only pops when the server shoots the client, not vise versa.

Does the client perhaps need to ask the server to inflict damage or should that not be a problem?

Hmmm can’t see where might be the problem without seeing your nodes.

let me know if this isnt enough info or if i’m just completely clueless LOL

but yeah,
the server can damage the client, but client can’t damage server. let me know what you think.

the pics kinda seem to be backwards btw

I’m confused by the SwitchHasAuthority node in StartFire. StartFire is only be called within Server_StartFire? If so, SwitchHasAuthority will never execute the remote part. And even if not, this looks a little strange to me. I don’t know if you intend what’s happening there.

Anyway, this isn’t your problem I think. Can you show what you’ve plugged into Start and End of your trace? Are you using nodes like GetPlayerController or GetPlayerCharacter there? If so, I think I know why this is not working as intended. Those would always return the server’s Character / Controller. That would explain your problem.