Lumen quality advice for film

I am starting a short film project with Unreal Engine 5 as I am keen to use both Lumen and Nanite but I am becoming a bit dismayed but what I perceive as the low(ish) quality of Lumen.

I just cannot seem to get rid of the grainy noise Lumen appears to be producing and I seem to be having a terrible time with spotlights.
My major issues are:

1. Lumen just seems to be hit and miss with general quality even with point lights
  2. Spot lights seem to be screenspace GI only. As soon as I face the camera slightly away from a spotlight the GI just goes black.
  3. To combat the spotlight issue I decided to use emissive “lights” but the Lumen output is all mottled and really not good quality.

I have seen Youtube videos regarding emissive materials and the poor Lumen quality but surely I can get nice clean results and surely I can get well behaved Spotlights.

As my project will be rendered out as a short film I don’t particularily care about FPS, I only care about quality. I even tried to use Pathtracer and I found produced great quality (slowly)… but… doesn’t support Groom hair which I am using and volumetric fog :frowning:

Can anyone suggest any specific cvars I might need or any other settings that can solve the issues I am having. I am loving the near realtime workflow, having a great time with realtime hair strands and my skin and Nanite meshes look great… just the lighting… argh…

Appreciate any advice.
PS. I am using raytracing with Lumen and I thought that might solve the spotlight issue and mottling but no :frowning:
PC Specs (if it helps with quality settings)
Intel i9
128GB Ram
Nvidia 3090RTX

Thanks in advance :slight_smile:

While I can see the appeal of this stuff for your purposes, truthfully I just don’t think it’s there yet despite the way they market it. It doesn’t yet cover all the bases for real-time games, where we are willing/expect to deal with visual trade offs for performance.