Lost my Mesh / character + empty detail tab in Blueprint (5.3.2)

Hello

Yesterday it was working but when I opened my project today, my character mesh is empty and no content showing in the details section to set it back again:

2 Likes

Hey @Claviateur!

A few questions to help get the ball rolling:

• Is this happening exclusively to one blueprint?
  • Do the other details panes in the blueprint work for their corresponding components?
  • Have you tried restarting your project?
  • What were the last changes made to your character blueprint?

Happened to me to a couple of times. Its when it doesn’t save properly and becomes corrupted.

Unless you have backups, they best you can do is copy any blueprint and functions, then make a new one.

1 Like

As I am new to the UE blueprint learning etc. I can’t really remember or identify the changes I made or any specific reason but it happened once so far (I started the tutorials 3 weeks ago) and now that I think about it, it could be that I might have experienced a crash in the UE before this happened. Not too sure though. Sorry new to the whole thing so do not know exactly why. So far, it did not reproduce.

Hey @Claviateur,

If you can not reproduce your error, coupled with the fact that you had experienced a crash, it is very likely that the file is corrupted. @Z3R0K0’s suggestion of moving your current functions over to a new blueprint is more than likely what you need.

2 Likes

Ok, I got this bug again, two more times now without any crash in UE5.3.2

In these 2 events, I simply saved the project, waited for it to finish saving and closed the Engine…

The only thing I could think about is perhaps, but not sure at all, it could be because I have a Spline with the AI Character Mesh.