Loot containers

Hey, I have an inventory system and want it so if you open a loot container, it shows pictures of items that can be picked up and if you click on it then they got into your inventory. I’ve created a UMG to show the idea I want (see pic attached). Tom Looman has made a video of what I’m going for also. Thanks in advance

Just create an array that is associated with the items in the loot container, and transfer the items in the array over to the UMG slots (Loop through the array, and assign the corresponding images).

Hi thanks for the reply, although I’m not too good with UE4 just yet I understand that I already have created an array that carries my items, but the rest I don’t really understand. See the pic for what I have so far, also the freeze and unfreeze player custom events was so I could select the items with the mouse cursor but that doesn’t work, I’m not sure if that’s because this isn’t in my first person character blueprint though. If you could visually show me what you mean then that would help a lot. Thanks

Well, what does your ‘AddToInventory’ event do? Can you post a screenshot? Also, where are you spawning your widget?

See pic for the Add to inventory function, and I’m creating the widget in the blueprints for the filing cabinet, should this be done in the first person character? Thanks

Well, there are a couple of ways to do this. Basically wherever you create the widget, you need to store it in a variable so that you can populate it’s slots whenever you want. You have two options: Create another items array in your widget, then you can just assign it to have the same value as your cabinet array. OR, you can just loop through your cabinet items, and assign the slots. Either one works, and I’m not really sure which is more appropriate for your situation, so I will have you use the latter method.