Live Coding

Live coding is the feature which allows you to make changes in c++ while the editor is running and immediately “push” compiled changes to the editor. It’s been an awkward topic of discussion because most users were not aware the “feature” actually caused problems including corruption and the general advise has been to not use it at all.

Now that we’re on Unreal Engine 5, visual studio will even tell you it can not start compiling while the editor is open. It seems Live Coding is now disabled by default?

Thing is, if it DID work it would actually save a lot of time if we can put the code on one side and see immediate results on the other. Has this idea been abandoned? Is there a working alternative?

I’ll leave the blueprint alternative out of this for various reasons, as a c++ programmer I don’t see a future in blueprints the way it is.

Update:
I have been using the words “Live Coding” and “Hot Reload” for what I thought was the same system. Keep that in mind. They are similar.

Live Coding vs Hot Reload? - #6 by NilsonLima

Using Live Coding to recompile Unreal Engine Applications at Runtime | Unreal Engine 5.0 Documentation

IMO, it works fine. Enable it in the editor, and use ctrl-alt-f11 to trigger a live coding rebuild.

In UE4, you can’t use it to make changes to code structure (adding functions, properties, etc will pretty much blow up), but in UE5 there have been changes to completely reload associated objects in memory, so i guess it works better there.

I use it all the time when I’m iterating on code.

1 Like

This is good to know. I must be sure it is safe to use for serious development before any form of corruption blows up the entire project. (It even moved away from blueprint entirely except for data assets)