Lightmap resolution or Movable light state?

Hi, I am a beginner UE4 developer and I have a question that is killing me.

So I making a practice level and at the end I have a light but the problem is that the shadow its kinda bad. The shadow its on the BSP Floor and I set a resolution of 4. But I have another option that is giving me better results and is using the light at Movable mode but this light never is going to move and I don’t know if making this im giving problems to the performance of the game.

What is better to do?
Use a higher resolution on the floor or a movable light?
Should I use Movable light for better results?
How can I know how much am I affecting the performance of my game?
What resolutions should I use for the StatichMesh and BSP actors for a good performance and a
good looking?
And last question, should I be strict with the light mobility?

Thanks and sorry my english and questions, I am really new <3

Moveable lights is always easier, and you will save yourself a lot of heartache.

The performance impact is minimal, unless you have a lot of lights in the level.

1 Like

Thanks for taking your time to reply.

I understand. But what its worst, making the BSP Resolution better or working with a movable light. What is worst for the performance?

Cheers.

If you’ve made the floor from BSP, it probably has totally shot UVs, that’s my experience anyway.

BSP is only for prototyping - I think.

Why not use?

It’s free and works much better than BSP.

1 Like

I’m studying a course and I’m working with BSP Geometry right now.

What’s the difference of that pack? Its Static Mesh?

I’m really beginner, sorry and thanks again for taking your time to response.

These are meshes with world position material ( doesn’t stretch when you manipulate the mesh ).

When you say BSP do you specifically mean?

Screenshot_1

You’ll get better lighting with a stationary light, as movable lights have no indirect light.