Light shines through my door.

Hi.

I’m very new to game making and UE4.
I get this effect on my door from the light on the other side of the door and I don’t know what I’m doing wrong.

996650a224a8f7ddd5c55f3ab0be4660d2420037.jpeg

The doors are solid meshes, they have proper UVs and there is an animation on them to open and close.
I’m using Cinema 4D R15 and exporting with FBX 7.3 to UE 4.2.

My original post about this disappeared some how in the Content Creation section.

Sorry about that, but there was a problem with the database: https://forums.unrealengine/showthread.php?10781-UE-Forums-Outage-Data-Loss-Incident-Today

Do you get any warnings when you build your light?

I don’t get any warnings when I build my light, the only waring I get is when I import my mesh and get:
“Warning Warning: No smoothing group information was found in this FBX scene. Please make sure to enable the ‘Export Smoothing Groups’ option in the FBX Exporter plug-in before exporting the file. Even for tools that don’t support smoothing groups, the FBX Exporter will generate appropriate smoothing data at export-time so that correct vertex normals can be inferred while importing.”

You may want to check your normals.

I’m not sure how C4D handles this, since I hate it with a passion - but you should have an option to cull backfacing geometry in the viewport. Pore over your mesh and check for any visible holes, and then flip the normals as and where they appear.

I have checked faces, normals and vertices on the mesh many times and haven’t found anything wrong with them.

Alright.

Can you upload the mesh? Might help to get a second pair of eyes to look over it.

Probably a low lightmap resolution is causing it -> choose a higher value (e.g 128)

But as Crow87 said, it would help us when you could upload your mesh so that we can take a look at it :slight_smile:

Here is the FBX file for the mesh.
https://www.dropbox/sh/ahzmjc33i7kjh8i/AAAxcoTa_9xn2dretH2LOHkla