Light Reflection Help

I started learning UE4 a couple of days and I’ve come across an issue I don’t know how to workaround.
In the picture below you can see the red line running down in all 3 screenshots.

In the first picture (the ref) you can see the long reflection. The second picture is my screenshot from UE4 with the point light with the attenuation radius set to give me the same long light reflection. Now the issue I’m coming across is since I’m using a stationary light and it has a limit of 4 overlapping lights, I need to reduce the attenuation radius so the lights don’t overlap but when I do that I’m not getting the long reflection I need. As you can in the reference there’s a lot more lights close eachother so that would mean I would have to lower the attenuation radius even more once I place the correct number of lights.

Since it’s been only been 2-3 days since I’ve been exploring UE4 maybe I’m missing a very basic thing about lighting but if someone could help me out I’d greatly appreciate the help.

Change the lights to static lights, then you won’t have the 3 light limit. Stationary lights, which have that overlap limit, allow you to change the color or intensity after the lighting is baked.

You would also be able to get the reflections from the actual mesh that represents the light source rather than the light object.

@ZacD: from what I read online I thought that static lights don’t have spec highlights so I won’t be able to get that light reflecting the way I want.
@darthviper: That makes sense. I’ll give that a try.

Thanks for the reply guys, really appreciate it. :slight_smile:

Static lights have spec highlights.

I’m kinda getting the look I wanted with this setup, stationary lights with shadows disabled but the issue I’m running in to is that since theres no shadow im getting the spec highlight where it shouldn’t be. With the lights not casting shadows I doubt I can avoid this issue.