Light Leaking Through Walls

https://forums.unrealengine.com/core/image/gif;base64
​Alright, so I have literally scoured the internet for solutions to this problem and haven’t really found anything yet that fixes my problem. Everything I’ve come across so far seems to just mask the issue instead of addressing the root cause of the problem. I am extremely new to Unreal Engine 4 so please forgive me if this seems like a silly problem to have.

I have been trying to figure out how to fix light leaks in a sealed room and started with some basic geometry just to try and get the hang of it. I used the 400x400 static mesh wall that comes in the Starter Content.

I made sure that the geometry is snapped together to create a tight seal for no light to come in. Here is an example:

This is what the inside of the box looks like:

I’ve looked everywhere to try and figure why I’m still getting these leaks. I even tested this geometry out in a new First Person project and when I did it turned out not to have any leaks so I’m just trying to figure out why it won’t work in this project I’m using.

If anyone can provide me with any solutions it would be greatly appreciated.

Those corners are paper thin to lightmass, and due to said low precision, it passes right on through, the solution is to expand the walls slightly to form a full box, not a box minus some parts around the corners. You can just shift in 2 side walls or scale them a bit.

Hi!

I’m not sure about the starter content walls, never used them but this is the same way I build my walls for archviz and this is the best approach I’ve ever found to have proper lighting!
What is the lightmap uv for that wall mesh?
What is the lightmap resolution?
What are your lightmass settings?
I’m guessing that your lightmap resolution will be too low and your lightmass settings are also low for this precise scene!