Level transitions with procedural level generation

I’m new to UE having used Unity for a few years, so feel free to assume I am ignorant of everything. I’m experimenting with developing a procedurally generated dungeon crawl, using multiple small levels connected by stairs. At the moment I have a 2D tile map generator (c++) and I’m fairly sure I can create a 3D environment of blueprinted tiles from it. I would like the game to run as a 4 player coop hosted by one of the players.

My question is: What is the best approach for loading the levels for the players? Ideally I would like to stream in new levels as each client demands them (e.g. trigger near staircases) and unload them when they are no longer needed (no player within 1 level of them).

I see the most basic solution as a single live level with a transition and the requirement for all players to be on the same level (“You must gather your party before adventuring forth!”), but I would like something more sophisticated so they can roam around a bit more independently.

I’m using UE5 and I have seen the level streaming docs, but I thought I would get some opinions before I delve further. I’m not really looking for code, more suggestions of approaches and key words I can research around. I am particularly interested in how I tie together procedural generation on multiple levels, networking and level transition. Thanks!

If the areas are fairly focused, you can do it with loading and unloading blueprints. ( You could also make sublevels, and decide randomly which you are going to stream ).

The problem lies in the ‘multiplayer’ part.

You have to let them wander freely. That means that they will all be in different positions simultaneously. But… once player 1 has visited ‘Area A’, when player 2 ventures into that area, it needs to be the same position etc. That’s the problem.

The system has to pass level info back and forth, and you have the synchronization problem.