Level Streaming by persistent level and GRID

Hi, I would like to achieve a very certain scenario, I want to split my game world into gigantic map pieces, I want to create each map 1 by 1, and have them aligned on a grid in the world as 64x64.
I am a previous unreal 2 developer and achieved this by myself using C++ back then.

Let’s say level 1 is 0,0 on the grid, level 2 is 0,1 level 3, 0,2
so on and so forth.
I wish to stream each map piece,
Now, I totally understand how level streaming works in unreal 4, the scenario i want to replicate is in my attached image.
I want my pawn / character to trigger a load of areas in a grid around me.
If my character moves to the next “map” piece, the map pieces two squares away from me will disappear, and so the map pieces 2 squares infront of me will appear, I will disguise this with a distance fog.

I just really want to know if it’s possible with blueprints only?
Can i stream persistent worlds at all? e.g, unload and load them? I want multiple level files, I don’t want for example one gigantic world, i want grid pieces. for example, i want to just open my level and edit only 0,1 without even looking at 0,0 or 0,2.

Or should i convert my project to a c++ project and code it myself?

Thanks,

• Scott

Hi!

What you want is built in, it’s called World Composition.

Here’s the documentation for it: World Composition User Guide | Unreal Engine Documentation

Wow, thank you! I had no idea this was actually built in, this makes is much easier than ever before, It’s great to know I can create several separate level files with different environmental settings and just piece them together in a grid,
much appreciated! Saves a lot of hassle, i really didn’t want to use one persistent world and just have level layers,
I wanted to have multiple “persistent worlds” because i want to eventually split the level files from eachother and encrypt them. And load them into the client for streaming! or “composition”

Thanks again!