Level Design tools not quite fast enough, for solo level designers.

Hi, so I made thread in general discussion https://forums.unrealengine/showthread.php?18108-Level-Design-in-UE4-is-slow-and-tedious ] and it was suggested that I move it over here to feedback.

Basically my problem is ,other tools which I used to create levels, could create levels much faster and I have made levels in many editors, going back for almost 20 years. I am talking about creating levels similar to those we played in old-school games, I am not suggesting these bsp methods be used for large-scale modern games, I am a solo developer who wants to create an fps with levels and features similar to the older games.

I had a conversation with people in #unrealengine on irc about and they said the main problem with bsp is that it all compiles into one single large static mesh and that is bad for a number of reasons, but generally being that it has to keep processing that static mesh as a whole, instead of only the local parts and calculate the collision for the entire thing in the same way. Obviously, all the benefits of breaking up a level into instance pieces are gone.

Two of the modern level editing programs that I find quite fast are:

Sauerbraten: Cube 2
?v=2rS075Bp-E0

TrenchBroom (new Quake editor)
?v=F-1pM55k4WM

I’ve also heard unity has some features that are good for quick bsp to, that just makes static meshes.

After my conversation on #unrealdevelopment and after analyzing the level examples in the ‘shooter game’ i noticed that significant areas of the level had very large static meshes, where I was expecting it to be made of many smaller pieces.

on the chat also suggested his plug in for vertex snapping: https://wiki.unrealengine/'s_Vertex_Snap_Editor_Plugin