Download

Landscape painting results in 49k shader compile?

Hi all - I’d like to preface this by saying I’m a noob to the engine and 3D development overall but just wondering what I’m doing wrong here.

I have created a new landscape in the landscape tab and applied a material from the (free) procedural nature pack from the marketplace (specifically grass, dirt, cobblestone, puddles) to play around with.

all goes ok at this point - 3000 shaders to compile, no biggie.

The pack comes with the layer info built in, so I go ahead and apply the relevant info to the four layers associated with the material, and this is where the problems start. As soon as I apply the first layer info 49, 000 shaders start to compile… this is probably about 2hrs (if not more) wait time with my rig, and as soon as I make a dab with the paint brush on a layer another 5000 shaders start compiling.

At this rate it’s going to take me hours just to paint a simple 7x7 quad space - surely I’m doing something wrong here?
ive tried taking a look at the help docs and had a look through the forums but I can’t seem to find a straight answer on this.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Main question I think would be, ‘are you using a material or material instance on the landscape’?

( It should be MI )

Thanks for the reply! I had a quick check and it looks like the material is a MI - however, in checking this I actually found a workaround for the problem.

Seems like if I restart/reopen the project, the shaders to compile drops down to a more reasonable 4K… I’ll keep looking into the root cause but at least now I can continue working :slight_smile:

Each time you paint using a “new” material layer on a landscape it will have to compile.

e.g. Paint grass layer … compile. paint dirt layer … compile.