Landscape material is black.

hello, i’ve tried to make a landscape material and it’s not working

the preview of the material works fine, so does it when i apply it to a static mesh. but once i apply it to a landscape it goes black. no idea what this could be since im new to ue4

also i don’t have an usage option to set it for landscape.

the viewport picture is a static mesh and a landscape next to each other with the same material

Most likely you just forgot to add name to your material layers. It says None, where a proper name should be on landscape blend node. Additionally, you have to add those layers in landscape tools.

1 Like

Hi, i have have the same issue too, but i have proper names on each node, so can you help me figure why?

I just started using UE4.13 today

1. turn off height blending on the “Landscape Layer Blend” nodes, there’s a lot of misinformation about height blending and you don’t need it (although you have set it up correctly).
  2. go into the landscape editor, go to the “paint” tab, add layer infos to your layers and then right-click one and choose “fill”. After that you can paint normally.
  3. set your landscape material to “opaque” instead of “masked” (leave the visibility mask node connected to opacity mask output, even though it grays out), and ignore any instructions in tutorials about setting up a separate “hole material”. Landscape actually manages that itself now, as long as you have the visibility mask node in the material it will work.

After i did all the changes that you list, its still not working, after i fill layer with one of the texture, my landscape just have one texture, i could paint it, but the painted texture will cover up the filled texture.

I got it to work, thanks alot

How did you end up fixing it? I have the exact same problem as you and I couldn’t figure out the above step 2.