Is unreal engine something for beginners?

Hey guys,

I would like to hear from u if u think that u can start in unreal engine? I want to learn developing games from A to Z.
I am a Web developer/Application developer so i have knoweledge of programming but not knowledge of game programming.

Woud u advice me to start with unreal engine or something more simple?

Thanks for reading/answering.

I personally would start with the UE4, because there is

-plenty of documentation and video tutorials
-a friendly community
-blueprints -> to create a game you dont necessarily need to know how to program c++
-marketplace with tons of free stuff
-… :slight_smile:

More information:
https://forums.unrealengine/showthread.php?7448-Unreal-Engine-good-for-a-beginner
https://forums.unrealengine/showthread.php?288-UE4-is-ideal-for-beginners

I good idea but if they haven’t used any UE before would UE4 be a good starting point?.

Personally I would advise to start from nearer the beginning… maybe “Unreal Tournament 2004” to get some experience of BSP/Texturing the BSP and StaticMeshes.

When I first used ummm forgot it’s prefix :slight_smile: Unreal Tournament III’s editor it was so different from UT2004’s and UE4 is different yes I know from UT2004 but the BSP principles and such were okay for both.

My thought Sean is to go buy Unreal Tournament 2004 and get some experience of BSP/Texturing the BSP and StaticMeshes before jumping into UE4 (UE4 = Unreal Editor 4.0)

In my opinion the UE4 is really easy to use even when you dont have any experience with the UE -> 2 years ago, when I started game development, I tried out several engines (cryengine, unity, udk) and UDK was far the most user friendly engine. That was UDK, now with the UE4 it’s a lot more easier! :smiley:

But that’s just my opinion :wink:

I dont think its an good idea to start with earlier tech.