Is this the right place to ask for help?

Hi all. Sorry, but I’m that guy. I have nothing to do with gaming… usually. I’m a machine designer, and I’ve been given the “simple” task of creating an interactive VR experience surrounding one of our machines. This will be used as a sales tool, and possibly as training down the road. I started working with Autodesk Stingray a few years ago, simply because we are an Autodesk customer. With A LOT of help, I managed to make a “walk through” of one of our systems, and a fly through using a predetermined camera path, all exported from 3ds Max. Both of these had no physics in them whatsoever, you could walk right through everything. Not that that isn’t fun… but now we want the objects to be more interactive. We need to be able to bump into them, tough them and (hopefully) eventually be able to turn handles and push buttons. So far, for this, Stingray has been a maddening exercise in frustration and let down, and the absolute silence from the support people at Autodesk (normally great, btw), has driven me here.

I’ve looked at the first person template, and played around with importing my own objects as .fbx files. I can already, in less than a day, see that this is going to work much better. But I’m going to need some help along the way, and I’m hoping that this is a patient and understanding community. So, my first question (should have asked this first) is: am I in the right forum to ask specific questions about building my sim? If not, what would be the best place to go?

TIA

Just going to move your thread over to the AR/VR section, they should be able to help you there! :slight_smile:

Can you be more specific about which problem you are trying to solve or what exactly you need help with? Otherwise it is very difficult to provide any guidance.