Is this Multiplayer movement logic correct?

Ok, so I’m self taught at networking game stuff. I started in Unity (mirror) and I thought I had a pretty solid understanding of how to execute things from client to server, or from server to everyone, etc.

Let me start with how I understand it, as plainly as I can put it.

The Server (as a player) essentially just needs to Multicast their actions to everyone. Since they are the server, they just need to tell everyone what they are doing.

The **Client **(as a player, obviously) needs to run the action locally, and also tell the server to tell all other clients that this action happened (very loose explanation there).

With that in mind, I made the attached logic. It was working just fine until I tried to play this over the internet with a friend… and then we notice client jitter. Locally you can almost never see the jitter happen, but while I was learning this logic I ran into the same exact jitter and fixed it by running it through the Client custom action.

To be clear, the Client runs a custom event that is “Executes on Server” that calls the same command that the server uses to successfully move. I must be missing something simple/fundamental.

Thanks for the help in advance.

Ah, I figured out my issue.

I had all of my movement custom events not set to Reliable. My understanding now is that the checkbox for reliable means it’s either going to be TCP (reliable) or UDP (unreliable). I might be misunderstanding the exact meaning of the reliable checkbox, but it fixed my issue to make these network events reliable.

Ok, I lied. I still have jitter when playing over the internet. Is there some way to fix that?

You can achieve this in several ways.

Simpler method:

Or if you need to replicate a variable (using RepNotify):

You change the variables first on the server (not multicast). And for max movement speed you need to change it on the server and client side (as shown in the first example).