Is there any alternative ddx ddy for calculating normals when use DistanceToNearSurface?

I want to create small river waves along the shore using WPO, but there is a problem with calculating the normals. Now I use DDY and DDX, but I am not satisfied with the result. Is there any way to calculate the normal map for such cases? I create a wave using Cos and DistanceToNearSurface.

Just asking, but that’s a landscape (sand) and you’re using a flat-mesh for the water, where the water-material samples the distance to the landscape to create waves?

Yes, when you are creating offsets using math functions, you can mathematically derive the normal. This thread shows the formula and an example of this being done using a Sine wave, just needs some minor teaks to work with cosine (or you could switch your wave to be based one sine).

Thanks for the quick reply. I tried to copy your method, but the result is a bit strange. I’m not a programmer, maybe I made a mistake.

Landscape (sand) + Rectangle with High Poly mesh (water).

The issue is you cant just transform the normal into tangent space like I did in the plane because the tangent direction of the mesh tangent is not oriented in the same direction as the gradient you are using as an input. Doing this will result in the normals being bent all in the same direction, instead of in the direction of the wave.
This can be seen by viewing the world normals:

Essentially, you’ve found the normals in 1D. They need to be rotated to align with the direction the pixel is from the surface. You can get the direction to the nearest surface with the Distance Field Gradient node. You can probably just rotate this vector to align with the RG component of the direction gradient.

Yes, I understand the problem. Tried to solve this with DistanceFieldGradient. But my knowledge of UE is not enough(( As far as I understand there are no negative values in DistanceFieldGradient and I stopped at this moment.