Is it possible to create a custom wireframe shader/material in Unreal 5 that only (mostly) renders quads (and not triangles) like in this Unity engine shader example?

Hi,

It looks like it is possible to do so in Unity, but seems to be very complicated to achieve in Unreal.

This is how it can be achieved in Unity:

I’ve been looking for a solution for a while and I always end up in a dead end. I’m not a graphics programmer unfortunately, and this is a bit beyond my skill set. I understand the general principles, but all my attempts to convert this code into something that could be used in Unreal have failed so far.

Does anyone knows if it’s possible to convert this Unity Shader/Material code to Unreal? If yes, any pointers would be greatly appreciated about how to do it (even if it requires modifying the engine source). And if not, why? I’m just trying to fully understand why it’s so challenging to replicate such a Shader/Material in Unreal 5.

The closest solution that I have found to this problem is this one (using barycentric coordinates like in the Unity example):

Unfortunately, this solution doesn’t implement the part about removing inner triangles, like it is done in the Unity example posted above (and also, it requires a custom unwrap, unlike the Unity solution). If anyone has some insights about this subject that they are willing to share with the community, it would be immensely appreciated.

Thank you.

1 Like

Hey @Onoa!

The good news is, this is a lot easier than you would believe. You can set up a wireframe directly in your material.

3y7YZY7WWR

Check out these non-Epic affiliated tutorials covering very similar effects as well (one is a material, the other a post process effect:

I hope the above is the solution you need!

1 Like

Hi Quetzalcodename,

Thanks a lot for your reply. Like you’ve said, creating a triangulated wireframe shader is very simple, when using the native material wireframe option.