Increasing FPS for procedurally added meshes

I’m a bit of a noob on the rendering side, so maybe someone can help or point me to good guides.

I have a SkeletalMesh with these stats:

I add this mesh up to 32 times on an Actor, and my FPS drops from 90 to 17. I was wondering what can I do to keep high FPS? Can they be batched? Other tricks I don’t know about?

I would say the poly count there is just much too high.

Ok thanks, so that is all I can do to improve performance? What poly count should I be aiming for?

I’ve reduced the poly count to 20K, but I’m still getting quite poor FPS, like 30-40. I need to add more stuff as well. Also, the meshes I add “flicker”. Here’s a screenshot, there is supposed to be 32 in a square grid, but this shows only half of them (the others flicker in and out).

http://content.screencast.com/users/Andargor/folders/Jing/media/622470c8-a6af-45a4-9bf3-d51e3ca324d7/2014-06-06_1755.png

Any ideas from you rendering gurus?

EDIT: Deleting and reimporting the SkeletalMesh got rid of the flickering. The performance issue remains however.

20k is still alot of polys for a mesh you are going to be using alot of. Try looking into normal mapping high poly detail onto low poly meshes. I’m not able to see your mesh super clearly, but you might be able to get it down to 5k if you rely on normal maps.

Ok thanks, I’ll read up and look into that. At 20k, they are of poor quality, but I hear shaders can help as well.

EDIT: This is what it looks like in Blender with the decimation. The round part is really gnarly.

Does it need to be a skeletal mesh? I am assuming it has some kind of animation, but depending on how complex that animation is, you might be able to accomplish it via a vertex shader on a static mesh.

That’s a very good question and suggestion. I used a SkeletalMesh to allow swiveling and vibrations. I tried the baking of high-res normals onto a 10k model but it doesn’t look any better, although I might have done it wrong.