Imported static mesh, problem with materials

Hi guys, I’m really new to all this and im not interested in coding but in the visuals.
The thing is I made a house in Sketchup and divided it in diferent elements for then adding materials separatly in UE4. when I ported them, the first problem was that every mesh said “Invalid lightmap settings” so I readjusted every single element light map resolution. Is there something so I don’t have to do this?

After that when I tried applying materials to each static mesh, the textures were in a much lower scale, but when i add them to a static mesh made with a brush, the texture looks fine, anyone knows whats happening?

Here is a screen cap.

You can see there that the mesh in the right looks fine while the mesh in the left (the one i Imported) doesn’t

Hi,

Did you provide a second set of UV coordinates for the lightmaps and assigned the correct channel in the mesh prtoperties?
Your texture UV maps might be overlapping and lightmaps require a non-overlapping UV arragement.
Can you show a screenshot of your static mesh properties (including the extended properties)?
Also a view of the UV sets itself would be nice :slight_smile:

Cheers,

Have you made you uv mapped your model in your 3d program?

Yea, I just learned that by searching more in the forums, I didn’t set up any UV map, my bad.
So my question now is how to get the coordinates and everything right? Because im working on sketchup for the modeling :frowning:

If sketchup doesn’t support that. what other program can I export the sketchup .fbx to, so I can set everything ok and THEN port it to UE4?

Hi,

Hmm, I dont know sketchup…
As a tool of last resort (if you dont have 3dsmax or any other program that doesnt support UV unwrapping), you could use the UE4 mesh editor function of generating uv sets. I came to learn that they are not optimal and very basic, but should suffice in most cases)

CreateUV.jpg

Good luck :smiley:

Cheers,