Imported large .fbx clipping settings

Hi, I am very new to UE editing, I made a (very) basic model in blender which I intended to use as a basis/block out for scaling and stuff for a map I intend to make in UEFN, when I bring the fbx in, the whole object seems to be surrounded by a ‘no clip’ cube. Is there a setting I need to change in the Static Mesh properties? - what I mean is basically the white object in the image below which I intended to use to test how vertical a pathway could be etc. and as a basis for my map design is basically a large block once the map is tested in FN :

I thought it might be under collision settings, so I tried ‘FortBuildingMesh’, but that also didnt seem to work.

Thank you very much for any help

Hi Raytrace, Welcome to the Forums.

I’d describe it more as a ‘collision volume’ than “no clip cube”.

If you open up the mesh in the static mesh viewer, you can 1. remove the auto-generated collision and 2. Set ‘use complex collision as simple’ which will use the mesh triangles as collision.

Let us know if you’re still having troubles.

2 Likes

While we are on the subject of custom collisions for meshes, I’d like to add that it is well worth investing the time to play with adding (and transforming) simple sphere and box collisions to supply the collisions for the meshes. Optimal collisions (and removing them altogether when you don’t need them) seems to help framerate and in some cases the effectiveness of AI.

I’d say one of the biggest flaws in UEFN now is the inability to remove collisions from props (it acts like you can, but you really cannot).

thanks very much, my old Q3A mapping (badly :p) days makes me say things like ‘no clip’ :smiley:

thanks that did actually work to a certain extent, though my feet kinda sink into the mesh.

I’m getting the below warnings when bringing stuff in - even for (extremely) plain and un distorted shapes such as a plain walkway mesh (i.e. two faces extruded from a cube mesh):