Imported FBX lighting/shadows issues

Hi all,

beginner here…!

I’ve imported a large room in two pieces, floor and walls with ceiling. The meshes are clean and have no problems. The UVs are also fine.

But, when I import them into UE I get the following kind of artifacts/irregularities… things like the weird lighting/shadowing at the edges and also those dark spots where there aren’t any vertices too?
Also the shadows of the little sticking out pillars fall short of their geometry on 02_A?

The A screenies are in UE, the Bs are in Maya so you can see the wire frames.

Does anyone know why any of this is or how I can remedy it please?
I’m using the 3rd Person BP almost at it’s default settings, the only thing I’ve hanged is the graphics are all on Ultra.

ANY help with this will be much appreciated…!

Marc

This is probably due to overlapping UVs. If not, perhaps you haven’t created a second uv channel for your lightmap?

Hi man,

thanks…!

The UVs should be fine as I laid them out in Maya and there’s no overlapping, but as fr as the second channel goes, do I do that to the FBX in Maya or when it’s in UE?
Could it be the resolution of the lightmap generated in UE?

I’m going to be building some pretty big but cleanly built structures so I need to resolve this early…!

Ok, so I upped the Lightmap resolution to 4096 (!) and it’s improved it, but obviously I don’t want to use a Lightmap this size so does anyone else have any suggestions/help please?

Also on the second screenie you can see there’s also some weird issue with the shadows cast by those thin tall pillars again? Does anyone know why this could be?

Thanks guys.

05_A.jpg

The weird shadows cast from those pillar shapes are due to the ceiling being one-sided, the light is coming through from outside. For interiors it helps if you have an outside facing surface to block lighting, it doesn’t need to be detailed if you don’t want to see the outside, just something to block the light.

Hi!